Oakham In Bloom Local Award Winners 2015

Hot on the heels of the town’s Silver Gilt award in the East Midlands In Bloom competition, Oakham In Bloom presented local awards to local residents and businesses at their AGM the evening.

The results for the 2015 awards are:

Best Front Garden
1st Joyce Lucas
2nd Mick Young
3rd Margaret Broughton

Best Secret Garden
1st Charlie Underwood
2nd Robert Strouts
3rd Alison Greaves

Best Business Premises
1st The Maltings led by Laura and Andy Cross of Dean’s Street Photography
2nd Lands End Europe Ltd
3rd The Old Wisteria Hotel

Best Licensed Premises
1st The Wheatsheaf
2nd The Lord Nelson
3rd The Whipper-In

Best Floral Display on Judging route
Mick Young

Chairman’s Award
Jackie Sellwood

Nominate Oakham’s Best Gardens

Our local gardening awards are back this year! It’s time to nominate your favourite residential and business floral displays in Oakham…

Send your nominations to info@oakhaminbloom.org.uk, call Angie Humphreys on 01572 756120 or complete our nomination form, for the following categories:
– Best Front Garden (Residential)
– Best Secret Garden (Residential rear garden)
– Best Business Premises
– Best Licensed Premises

There will also be ‘Best Floral Display on the Judging Route’ and a Chairman’s Award for an Individual’s Contribution to Oakham In Bloom.

Judging will take place in the first two weeks of August, so please spread the word and get those nominations rolling in!

Winners will be announced and the prizes presented at our AGM in September.

Local Garden Competitions 2015

Our First President & New Committee

At their AGM last week Oakham In Bloom announced the appointment of their very first President.

Stepping down as Chair this year, Maureen Dodds was invited by the new committee members to become President of Oakham In Bloom in recognition of her outstanding commitment to the organisation since it was founded in 1997.

The new Chair, Chris Morten, who began as a gardening volunteer before joining the committee, said: “Maureen has been a driving force for Oakham In Bloom’s projects since its beginning – we didn’t want to lose Maureen from the committee and we wanted to recognise her years of dedication – we’re delighted that she has accepted the post of President.”

As President, Maureen will continue to support Oakham In Bloom’s projects and advise the committee.

The committee for 2014/2015 are:
Chair: Chris Morten
Vice-Chair: Dave Blanksby
Secretary: Jackie Sellwood
Treasurer: Joy Cant
Gardening Co-ordinator: Craig Howat
Fundraising Co-ordinator: Pippy Woodley
Lottery Co-ordinator: Angie Humphreys
Press Officer: Lisa Batty

Oakham In Bloom are also looking for an Auditor of accounts as our current auditor has become Treasurer – please contact Chris Morten on 01572 759108 for further details.

2012 Local Award Winners

On Thursday 13 September Oakham In Bloom held its AGM and Local Awards Ceremony.

Every year the committee invite nominations for the best gardens and floral displays in Oakham – an opportunity to discover some hidden gems and to celebrate the efforts made by residents and businesses in keeping the town blooming, not just during the summer but all year round.

2012 winners are:

Best Front Garden (award donated by Rutland Horticultural Society)
Third Place – Mr & Mrs Cadman of Redland Road
Second Place – Mr & Mrs Sharpe of Cold Overton Road
First Place – Mrs June Mead of Redland Road

Best Secret Garden – small garden category (award donated by Bella’s)
Third Place – Mr & Mrs Bury
Second Place – Mr & Mrs Perril
First Place – Mr & Mrs Blackford

Best Secret Garden – large garden category (award donated by David Wilson Homes)
Third Place – Mr & Mrs Adams
Second Place – Mr & Mrs O’Brien
First Place – Mr T Gilbert

Best Business Premises (award donated by Rutland Chamber of Trade)
Third Place – Rutland Health & Beauty / The Beauty Shop
Second Place – Nature’s Dispensary
First Place – Oakham Oriental Rugs

Best Licensed Premises
Third Place – The Grainstore
Second Place – The Wheatsheaf
First Place – The Whipper-In

Best Floral Display on Judging Route (award donated by Lands End Direct Merchants)
Mrs Sylvia Hammond – Cricket Lawns

Chairman’s Award
Each year, Oakham In Bloom’s Chairman chooses an individual to receive an award for their contribution to Oakham In Bloom projects.
This year, the award was given to Oliver Hemsley from Paint it or Plant It for the outstanding contribution that Oliver and all his staff at Paint It or Plant It  gave to Oakham In Bloom in 2012.